Newspaper

Famous For A Day

the star newspaper picture

Yes I was famous for a day. I had an interview with The Sheffield Star (<– click link for interview) about my business, Fibromyalgia and my struggle with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.
I may look ‘good’ on the outside but on the inside it is a different story.
Since I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in 2012 life has been difficult, very hard at times with the pain and looking after my daughter of 4 years old. My story happened when I gave birth to my daughter. It was a complicated birth which left me having three operations threw the early years of my daughters life including a full coccygectomy. My rheumatologist and myself agreed my Fibromyalgia story began with the complications of the birth, operations and recovery for so many years.

Fibromyalgia for a lot of people can develop from trauma (like myself), pregnancy, naturally and a whole of other reason. Others with Fibromyalgia have wide spread pain all over their body, I am lucky in this area as my most affected area is my lower back, when the pain is really bad it travels up my spin and into my shoulders. Just because my pain is centralised, it does not mean mine pain is milder or worse than others, it just means we’re all different.

My Chronic Fatigue story I believe happened many years before my Fibro diagnosis. I can’t remember a time where I felt rested with a full nights sleep or not. I have always felt more tired than others and quickly to become tired with daily activities. Together with this and Fibro it can lead to a difficult life.

Due to my health issues I am no longer able to work in ‘normal’ employment, but I also knew I could not stay at home day and night doing nothing, I needed to do something for me and I needed to keep my mind active even if my body is not as active as I would like.
This is where my jewellery business came in. When I was diagnosed with Fibro my family and I knew nothing about it. Those I spoke to did not know much about it either. I wanted to make jewellery for those in the same position as me and with other invisible illnesses and diseases. This is where my awareness jewellery was born.

20170530_143615

I like to think those in the same position to buy my jewellery and accessories make them feel strong, keep going and fight the issue they have. Also my jewellery can be a talking point for others to ask about and start the awareness of Fibro, Chronic Fatigue and more. To me this is all priceless.

I love making my jewellery and accessories, I am a people pleaser, when I hear customers hear how my pieces make them feel it is all worth it.

If you would like to look more at my jewellery and accessories, please click this link —> EveryoneLovesGifts

Leave a comment